Welcome! How can we help?

Sorry, there are no results.
Menu

Home

Creating Your Design

Canva for Work

Team Settings

Billing and Plans

Downloading, Saving & Sharing

iPad & iPhone Apps

Contributors

Legal

Canva Print

Search

Grids and Frames

Layouts

Text and Textholders

Photos

Backgrounds

Illustrations and Icons

Shapes and Lines

Charts

Page Setup

Folders

Reset your password

Canva Glossary

Nonprofit Program

Log In and Out

Transferring designs

Getting Started with Canva for Work

Brand kit

Uploading fonts

Resize your design

Team Templates

Free Content

Create an Animation

Creating a Canva Team

Setting up your Canva team

Adding and removing members

Roles and Permissions in Canva

Change your team name

Canva for Work Plans

Purchasing premium elements

Invoicing

Payment Options

Change/Cancel your Canva for Work Plan

Canva for Work Trial

Saving

Download quality

Advanced download options

Sharing your design

Printing

Watermarks

iPad App

iPhone App

Apply to contribute

File Transfer Protocol (FTP)

Managing Media

Managing Payouts

Contributor FAQ's

Licensing

Privacy

Terms of Use

Send us a Legal query

Preparing your design for print

Manage and Track Your Order

Sending your design to print

Product Information

Pricing Information

Design Guidelines

Print Customer Service Policy

Something's not working

I can’t connect to FTP anymore

If you’ve previously connected fine to the Canva FTP server to upload contributor images, and suddenly you can’t connect, the following explanation may be what’s happened.

Canva’s system is version-aware, meaning that if you upload a file with the same filename, to the same location, the previous file will be overwritten. This means the previous file will no longer be available in Canva, but the new file will retain the metadata (title, description and keywords) of the previous version. This is great if you want to update files with improvements, but not if you don’t have a unique file naming convention and don’t upload images in folders. In this case, you’ll unintentionally remove images, and the new files will have the wrong metadata.

There are two ways to avoid this situation. The first is to use unique filenames. This is good practice for all stock media producers anyway. Including the production date in the filename is the most common way to achieve this. The second option is to simply upload all files in folders, ensuring no files in any one folder share the same filename. Files with the same filenames that are in different folders are treated as two separate files by the Canva systems.

If the system detects too many overwritten files, it may deactivate your FTP access. If you suspect this has happened to you, first make the necessary changes to your workflow, then reach out to us to have your FTP reactivated.

Was this article helpful ?

Not really Yes, thanks